Being autistic, making myself write a “projects update” aka what I’ve been thinking about lately.

Was following a thread on the Yesterweb Forum, about journaling, and I stumbled upon an interesting term I hadn’t heard before called a Digital Garden, with is a specific journal you keep for writing about your interests.

I typically keep a journal for emotional and physical things, and as such sometimes my interests will cross over but not as much, and I wanted a generalized place to store notes on different subject matter across time because I’ve always been dissatisfied with my ability to keep paper writing. I’ve kept paper journals, it isn’t right for me, I suppose.

For my personal journal, I’m using RedNotebook a functional diary application that allows for custom templates and automatic calendar dating, as well as a fun word cloud, so I can see how much I write in a certain topic (ironically, one interest has slipped through the cracks, but that’s for me to know and for you to assume when I’m not around or whatever.)

For my notes' system, I was using TiddlyWiki, but it wasn’t a snappy enough system for me and I had frequent backup issues. I think I might rely on Tiddly Wiki in the future as an indexing form once the acclimation of these notes expands a bit more, I’m also (terrifyingly) eventually planning on noting the two surviving journals I have from high school. Not now. Probably not for a long while. But eventually. I’ve put them in storage.

Right now, I’m using Notes-Up as my system for long term notes, for example things like clothing sizes in specific types of jeans or whatever. I have an academic section I am slowly building as well as a professional section, and then my digital garden. Presently. I’m mainly writing a lot about robots.

I’ve updated my Neocities. I’m still kind of updating it. Past unreliable attempts on updates made me desperate to have one solution to every part of me and what I create. I realized it’s okay to utilize separate spaces as long as it works for me, and I’m transparent about it. My site is just an easy way to point people, and it’s a consistent learning project on HTML and CSS, and it’s something my brain can turn to when I get worked up. Eventually I’ll use a GitHub pages to host my proper professional portfolio, it’s just taken a lot of energy to assemble that after the burnout.

Lately, my girlfriend and I have been watching competitive scrabble competitions. We’ve been playing a lot frequently, too, but we haven’t played since we’ve started watching the competitive scene. We’re going to drag our friends into sick, sick games of scrabble, and frankly I cannot wait.