These last few weeks have been a recovery week. I'm feeling fairly good as I write this, but with medication changes you sometimes have a bad time.

That said, things have regulated out a bit now, and I have some upcoming project goals in the next month.

Earlier last week my dad and I went through my grandma's stained glass supplies, and I picked out a few pieces to make some projects with. I've fooled around with pattern cutting and using some old tools, but I'm definitely going to need new glass cutters. I'll write a separate blog post documenting that process collectively, but I'll start drawing some patterns for some sun catchers next week, and I think I'm gonna theme them around a few personal/friend related things to start.

a picture of my kitchen table covered in cardbord, glass, and paper pattern pieces, along with my tools.

[Image I.D.: A picture of my kitchen table covered in cardbord, glass, and paper pattern pieces, along with my tools.]

I've been trying to slow down. I think. At least in the sense that I'm trying to be more reflective about how I write and how I communicate with others, which has been a process like all things are. First and foremost, it's nice to have a support system of people who recognize the difficulties I have with communication and tools to improve myself.

It's especially hard in the creative sense. It's no secret I'm constantly inspired. I am interested in *so* much, but much like with my communication skills, I'm working hard to be more direct, and a bit limited in my inspirations so I can hone in *how* I'm inspired, and how that directs me.

I've been struggling to pick up a book this month, but one that is currently in my interest pile is Queer Airwaves: The Story of Gay and Lesbian Broadcasting by Gail Johnson and Michael C Keith. Shocker I know, I'm thinking about radio again.

I haven't picked it up yet, but at least with my experience in the rural Southwest, radio is an extremely conservative form of media. I've pitched LGBT focused radio content in the past, and I was a bit in over my head, but I think I'm up for some digging again. When I pick Queer Airwaves up, I'm sure I'll talk about it here.

With work done and having some time off, of course I used part of that time to do errands. A small fondness from chores was cleaning one of the cabinets in our house, we found a really pretty ash tray made by my grandmother for her father in law. I'm so enamored with the shape of this piece, I might try to recreate it at some point. A family filled with ex smokers can be so, so autistic about smoking paraphernalia.

A picture of a circular ashtray being held upright, it is a big circular dish, with a raised wall with three evenly spaced notches for joints. It is glaced in oxides and glaze in blue, teal, brown and grey.

[Image I.D.: A picture of a circular ashtray being held upright, it is a big circular dish, with a raised wall with three evenly spaced notches for joints. It is glaced in oxides and glaze in blue, teal, brown and grey.]

This is more of an unfinished blog post this week. I've been a lot busier with appointments and tasks and futureproofing some things, more to come, as always.

Inspiration and Appreciation

from the bones to the other side by marquis

Grappling with the new era and figuring out the umpires has been a casual back processor of mine for a while, but Blink's work is utterly horrifying and effective. Alternation is such a sore spot among fans and taking such a unique and again, terrifying look into even a "good" call in a game of Blaseball is amazing.

You will not go to heaven, you'll go to Kansas City by waltztangocache

Hen has one of the most stellar grasps of environmental horror I've ever read. The Mints are an...underrepresented team in the lore and fic genre and this instantly pulled me in I'm fascinated with these players and this world soo much.

Flying Wild High-AWAY GAMES by Otterpop Ohh the memorial belt.

Pandora does a such a sweet job recapping the little in/out of universe game that the "Wild High" teams play for this BNN Article. My fondness for the old division remains from the time the Lovers were welcomed into the Legacy league.

There's a lot of beloved interps in here that Pandora captured, and in true Wild Wings fashion, our incineration is the first one to introduce the belt to the new era.

Ada's Poems

First off, go look at Ada's website! She's so fucking stellar with code (helped me out when I first started my site), and the site style is just stunning.

I'm highlighting her entire poems page, because they're all really beautiful and visceral pieces.

My personal favorite is is To Change but you should read them all.

This tiny pottery studio tour by issey roquet was CRAZY inspiring as someone who A) would really like to get back into pottery and B) doesn't have a large space.

I also took the time to watch her shorts, she has such a lovely presentation! I hope she posts more to Youtube.

I really loved this sketchbook tour by Terra Zook. I appreciate the discussion between mental health and art and your creative output. I also found reflecting on the things you create when you were struggling is...just really nice. I appreciated her outlook.

Her style is also really, really fun. It popped quite nice for me and hit me with some ideas for sustaining a sketchbook.

Closing

Thanks if you've gotten this far! You get to read both my shill corner and a special blog update (update.)

I have a Ko-Fi! The money I receive goes into my survival, I'm currently saving up for a pair of photo-sensitivity glasses since I have an eye appointment soon.

I also have a limited set of Mini Blaseball Fic Commissions available which you can access here. I'm going to include thank yous for the donations and commissions I receive in my ticker, so look out for that!

My next blog post will be a deviation from this format because inspired by some friends, I'm writing So You Want To Start Journaling? a guide to journaling, information tracking and note taking and the various systems you can use. I'm doing a lot of research for this blog post, so it will come out sometime early March!

Thank you for reading!